Second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan

This Buddha isn’t the largest one in Japan? No, it’s not and I didn’t know this till after I visited the Great Buddha in Kamakura! The largest is in fact in Nara’s Todaiji Temple. Since I didn’t visit the LARGEST Buddha in Japan I guess I will just have to share my experience of the second largest one!

The second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan

The Great Buddha is located in the Kotokuin Temple and sits at about 13.35 meters tall, which is about 44 feet for those like me who don’t know meter measurements that well. That is one huge Buddha statue!

Second largest Buddha in Japan

Hours and Prices of Kotokuin Temple

Hours – 8:00 – 17:30, closes at 17:00 from October to March

Prices – 200 yen

In Japan, I have yet to enter a temple or shrine that wasn’t well-kept. This temple was one of the first I had the chance to visit and it was beautiful! From the bottom of the steps as I entered I could already see just how big the statue was! It was a sight I really wasn’t expecting, I knew it was big but I wasn’t able to grasp just how big till I saw it.

Second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan

At the foot of the Buddha is place to burn incense and an offering plate with fruits and vegetables. Another name for The Great Buddha of Kamakura is Kamakura Daibutsu. The statue is of Amida Buddha and is made of bronze. The statue was first cast in the year 1252 but has had a lot of reconstruction done due to weather and time wearing it down.

Second largest Buddha in Japan

This statue is actually hollow and you can pay a small fee to enter it. We had went on a very hot day so entering a giant bronze statue was like walking into an oven! There wasn’t much room to walk around and not much to see but it was neat to be able to go inside.

Statue interior times and fees

Fee – 20 yen

Hours – 8:00 – 16:30

Second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan

After visiting The Great Buddha of Kamakura we traveled to a few local temples and shrines and for lunch I had my first Japanese meal. If we had been traveling alone and had time I would have stopped at the beach. One of the temples we visited had a beautiful view of the ocean.

Second largest Buddha in Japan  Second largest Buddha in JapanSecond largest Buddha in Japan Second largest Buddha in Japan

This day trip to Kamakura was one of the first I took here in Japan. I really hope you enjoyed this adventure and will stay tuned for the next five excursions I have to share over the next couple days! All exciting places to visit in the Tokyo area.

Second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan Second largest Buddha in Japan Second largest Buddha in Japan

Second largest Buddha in Japan

If you missed the introduction to this blog series, take a look right here! In tomorrows blog post I will share where to do all your shopping!

Six excursions in six days

Rosy Trisha Blog

© 2015 TNG

One thought on “Second largest Buddha in Japan

Leave some love

